Cryptography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for software developers, mathematicians and others interested in cryptography. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

SHA1's compression function has two distinct parts: one where 16 words are expanded into 80 words, and one where the 80 words are used over 80 rounds. Are there specific names or terms for each of these parts, and if so, what are they?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

The part where 16 words are expanded into 80 words is often called message schedule (the name in FIPS 186-4) or message expansion; that's also the key expansion phase of the cipher at the core of the compression function (SHA1's message block is the key of that cipher, due to the Merkle-Damgård + Davies-Meyer structure of SHA-1).

The rest of the compression function would be the compression itself; or the encryption step of the cipher followed by the Davies-Meyer final combination (which, in SHA-1, is five additions modulo $2^{32}$, rather than XOR).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.