Take the 2-minute tour ×
Cryptography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for software developers, mathematicians and others interested in cryptography. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there any reference to check the list of encryption & signing algorithms which are compliant to FIPS 140-2. After an exhaustive search I could find only "AES".

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Take a look at FIPS 140-2 Annex A. It lists the following:

  • Symmetric Key
    • AES, Triple-DES, Escrowed Encryption Standard
  • Asymmetric Key
  • Hash Standards
    • SHA-1, SHA-224, SHA-256, SHA-384, SHA-512, SHA-512/224, SHA-512/256
  • Random number generators
  • Message authentication
share|improve this answer

The current list of FIPS-approved cryptographical methods is here.

For encryption, we're limited to AES, 3DES (known as TDEA in FIPS-speak), and EES (Skipjack).

As for signing algorithms, we have RSA, DSA and ECDSA.

Note that the list of FIPS-approved algorithms does change at times; not extremely frequently, but more often than they come out with a new version of FIPS 140.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.